> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.zenzap.co/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Limiting Communication

> Decide if team members can start a direct message (DM) chat with anyone in the workspace or only with those in their specific group.

**Access:** Workspace Admins

## **On Mobile (iOS & Android)**

1. Tap the "Admin" tab at the bottom of the screen.

2. Tap "Settings" on iOS, or "Workspace settings" on Android.

   ![Limiting Communication screenshot 1](https://mintcdn.com/zenzap/YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1/images/knowledge-base/limiting-communication/d956c2a0-a24e-4022-8da5-f2a65ed44b39.png?fit=max\&auto=format\&n=YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1\&q=85\&s=17121ce2b049cbfbbb150f13cd55c8b6)

3. Tap on “Restrict communications by teams or locations”

   ![Limiting Communication screenshot 2](https://mintcdn.com/zenzap/YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1/images/knowledge-base/limiting-communication/795e706a-654e-481b-9ba2-8ee31c2517cb.png?fit=max\&auto=format\&n=YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1\&q=85\&s=5c90da58479db8b7414ff79daf23be50)

4. Select your preferred restriction level:

   * "Open communication": All members can communicate with one another.
   * "Restricted by location": Members can only message others within their same location.
   * "Restricted by team": Members can only message others within their same team.

5. Tap “Continue”.

   ![Limiting Communication screenshot 3](https://mintcdn.com/zenzap/YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1/images/knowledge-base/limiting-communication/260d0194-bff6-496d-802c-dbb03246d6b0.png?fit=max\&auto=format\&n=YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1\&q=85\&s=e913cbabd4943d20a9af0651a1dacc2c)

6. Tap “Apply restriction” to confirm.

   ![Limiting Communication screenshot 4](https://mintcdn.com/zenzap/YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1/images/knowledge-base/limiting-communication/b98b4a66-46fd-463b-bead-e92e8f06100f.png?fit=max\&auto=format\&n=YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1\&q=85\&s=9bc463799f73e3bfee4154140f3bf6b0)

7. Choose if "Admins" or "Admins & Managers" will be allowed to communicate with people across different teams.

8. Tap “Confirm”.

   ![Limiting Communication screenshot 5](https://mintcdn.com/zenzap/YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1/images/knowledge-base/limiting-communication/66b5c5f7-665b-463e-ae61-33fd14917e8b.png?fit=max\&auto=format\&n=YglSoxjBfPnUI3L1\&q=85\&s=4c4af717ea802d9613c9b7af2ebab91f)

**Note:** Communication separation is workspace-wide and applies to all members, except for "Admins" or "Admins & Managers" depending on your selection.

## **On Desktop (Windows, macOS, & Web App)**

1. Click on "\[workspace's name] admin" in the side menu on Windows and Web, or click "My company" under the "Admin" section on macOS.
2. Click “Teams & Locations” at the top.
3. Click "Edit settings" under the "Communication boundaries" banner.
4. Select your preferred restriction level:

   * "Open communication": All members can communicate with one another.
   * "Restricted by location": Members can only message others within their same location.
   * "Restricted by team": Members can only message others within their same team.
5. Click “Continue”
6. Click “Apply restriction” to confirm.
7. Choose if "Admins" or "Admins & Managers" will be allowed to communicate with people across different teams.
8. Click “Confirm”.

**Note:** Communication separation is workspace-wide and applies to all members, except for "Admins" or "Admins & Managers" depending on your selection.


This documentation is built and hosted on [Mintlify](https://mintlify.com), a developer documentation platform.